International hemp group sets inaugural board, names director general

Share this:

The newly formed Federation of International Hemp Organizations (FIHO) has named a director general after elections that established the organization’s first board of directors.

FIHO appointed Fredéric Vallier, who served as Secretary General of the Council of European Municipalities and Regions for 12 years, as its first-ever director general. Vallier has a background in government relations, sustainability and industry. He will report to the newly elected board of directors.

FIHO officers

Elected as FIHO officers are: Chairman: Ted Haney, President & CEO, Canadian Hemp Trade Alliance; Daniel Kruse, Vice Chairman, President of the European Industrial Hemp Association (EIHA); Patrick Atagi, Treasurer, President & CEO, National Industrial Hemp Council of America; and Secretary, Charles Kovess, Australian Industrial Hemp Association.

Other board members elected are Joseph Hickey, Kentucky Hemp Association; Kyle Bingham, Texas Hemp Growers Association; and Rohit Sharma, Indian Industrial Hemp Association.

Issues in focus

Committees were established for communication and engagement, policy and regulations, research, and standards and sustainability.

FIHO said it will address key issues that affect the industry worldwide by interfacing with relevant international bodies.

FIHO membership is open to hemp organizations operating at the supranational, national, and subnational levels, companies and individuals, governments, research institutes, and not-for-profit organizations. Fees at five levels range from $4,000 up to $16,000.

Get Hemp Industry Updates

* indicates required

Newsletter Signup

Subscribe to our FREE email newsletter & get the latest hemp industry news directly in your inbox.

* indicates required
Scroll to Top