220 licenses predicted in Kansas

Share this:

Officials in the U.S. state of Kansas expect 220 applicants to grow industrial hemp in 2021 as the state moves into commercial operation after a one-year trial program. The Kansas Department of Agriculture conducted a public hearing on proposed regulations earlier this week, and noted unless there are substantial objections, the plan should go into effect on or near Jan. 1, 2021. Kansas operates under a Commercial Industrial Hemp Act passed in 2019. The proposed regulations cover licensing requirements, planting, pre-harvesting, sampling, disposal, transportation, violations and research. Under the proposed rules, grower licensees must pay roughly $1,800 including a $100 application fee, a $1,200 license fee, $200 registration fee and $225 laboratory testing fee. Each criminal background check costs the grower $47.

Get Hemp Industry Updates

* indicates required

Newsletter Signup

Subscribe to our FREE email newsletter & get the latest hemp industry news directly in your inbox.

* indicates required
Scroll to Top